ASTHO Alumni Society

The ASTHO Alumni Society is a community that supports former state and territorial health officials and provides opportunities for continued involvement with ASTHO on national public health issues.

A resource and network for former state and territorial health officials to:

  • Maintain and expand your network
  • Serve as an expert resource, mentor, or coach to S/THOs
  • Contribute to public health policy development
  • Advocate at a national level
  • Continue to keep current and engage your passion for public health
  • Maintain friendships
  • Participate in peer-led learning and sharing of potential job opportunities 


Members of the ASTHO Alumni Society shall be those former members of ASTHO who are current dues paying members of the Alumni Society. A member shall be entitled to vote on all matters coming before the ASTHO Alumni Society and shall be eligible to serve as an officer of the Society. All alumni can attend the annual in-person Alumni Society Business meeting at the ASTHO Annual Meeting. All alumni can join quarterly calls discussing emerging public health issues and policies and sharing updates about their new roles.

Join the Alumni Society

Annual dues are $100, and the dues year runs from September 1, 2018 through August 31, 2019.

The ASTHO online payment system is currently down. Please submit your payment via check using the AAS Membership Dues form. Checks should be mailed to ASTHO Headquarters (mailing address designated on form).

Alumni Society Officers

Chair, Mark Horton, California Alumnus
Past-Chair, Paul Halverson, Arkansas Alumnus
Vice-Chair, Terry Dwelle, North Dakota Alumnus
Secretary Treasurer, Ed Ehlinger, Minnesota Alumnus
Member-at-Large, Janet Olszewski, Michigan Alumna
Alumni Member of the Board, Terry Dwelle, North Dakota Alumnus

Staff Contacts

Suja Shunmugavelu, Senior Director, Engagement
Jillian Bajema, Analyst, Engagement