Federal Government Relations


Staff, Committees, and Partners

Government Affairs Staff

Carolyn Mullen, Chief, Government Affairs
Carolyn McCoy, Senior Director, Government Affairs
Jane Esworthy, Senior Director, Public Relations


ASTHO Government Relations Committee (GRC)

According to a resolution passed by the ASTHO Board of Directors, the Government Relations Committee shall (1) advise the Board of Directors on legislative and regulatory advocacy matters of importance to the Association,(2) Make recommendations for the Association's federal and state legislative priorities, and (3) develop policy recommendations on issues falling outside the purview of the Association's Policy Committees as deemed necessary by the Board of Directors. The Government Relations Committee shall submit quarterly reports to the Board of Directors and an annual report to the Assembly of Members.

Government Realtions Committee Roster

  • Jose Montero (NH), Chair
  • Ron Chapman (CA)
  • Terry Cline (OK)
  • John Dreyzehner (TN)
  • Terry Dwelle (ND)
  • LaMar Hasbrouck (IL)
  • David Lakey (TX)
  • JT Lane (LA)
  • Jewel Mullen (CT)
  • Karyl Thomas Rattay (DE)

ASTHO's Government Relations Work with Affiliates

ASTHO is supported by a network of 21 Affiliated Organizations representing an array of state public health agency leaders. The ASTHO federal government relations staff is frequently engaged with their affiliate counterparts to develop common messages and stay informed of each other’s advocacy agendas and progress on federal priorities.