Member Services

Nominate Your Colleagues for ASTHO's 2017 Public Health Awards

May 2017

ASTHO invites the public health community to nominate outstanding professionals and recognize their colleagues for achievement, excellence, and outstanding service to the field of public health at the national and state level by nominating them for ASTHO's 2017 Annual Awards

Winners will be announced in the nation’s capital at the 2017 ASTHO Annual Meeting and 75th Anniversary Gala Celebration. Find award descriptions, criteria, and nomination forms below.

The deadline for nominations is June 9, 2017. The ASTHO Nominations, Award, Membership (NAM) Committee makes final determinations of all award recipients. Please submit all nominations to

Ed Thompson Lifetime Achievement Medal for Sustained Leadership in Public Health

Established in 2013 to honor the late F.E. "Ed" Thompson, a former Mississippi state health official affectionately called the “medical statesman.” Dr. Thompson’s distinguished career spanned three decades during which he served in leadership roles in multiple levels of government and worked in academia to prepare a new generation of future public health leaders. The Thompson award, is one of the highest honors bestowed by the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO). The Thompson medal acknowledges the lifetime achievement of a national public health leader whose career marks an important legacy in the advancement of public health for the nation.

McCormack Award

Established in 1950 to honor the late Arthur T. McCormack, a Kentucky State Health Official, the McCormack Award is presented each year to a current, or in some cases, a former, public health official who has served in public health for at least ten years, been a chief state or territorial health official for at least five years, demonstrated excellence and has made a significant contribution to the knowledge and practice of the field.

Swearingen Award

Since 1979, the Noble J. Swearingen Award, named for a former Executive Director of ASTHO, has been bestowed on one individual in public health administration who has five or more years of experience in a state or territorial health agency and five or more years in service to ASTHO.

Excellence in Public Health Award

Occasionally, the association presents its Excellence in Public Health Award to recognize outstanding service on behalf of the public health community. Traditionally the award is presented in two categories, national and state/territory, and is for outstanding national leadership in promoting health and preventing disease as an alternative to more costly payments for sickness and illness.

Alumni Award

ASTHO's Alumni Award is presented to a former chief state or territorial health official who has demonstrated his/her continued commitment to public health.